Just a dork finding her way to a healthier life one minute on the treadmill at a time.

Showing posts with label yoga. Show all posts
Showing posts with label yoga. Show all posts

Monday, October 7, 2013

THE PLAN

So how am I planning on getting back into the swing of things? 'Things' being eating right and working out to a smaller me. As someone who likes to plan and organize I'm just not jumping back into this willy nilly. I got some plans, yo!


1. Eat Cleaner Foods, Less Carbs.
I love carbs and I love all the snacky junks foods that provided no nutritional value. I have got to cut waaay back on all the crap and make better choices. Whole grains instead of white, sweet potatoes instead of white ones, all the fruits and veggies. Its as simple as that. I will allow myself treats here and there, a cheat meal on special occasions. My biggest problem is having one little treat and than not going and eating all of the crappy but delicious things.

2. Keeping Track of What I'm Eating.
Yay for smartphones and their fun apps! I would totally give some of my initial success to the app Lose It! I can scan the barcode of anything I'm eating and even add recipes for when I cook up something yummy at home. You can even plug in your workouts to get a general idea of how many calories you've burned. There's even an option to plug in your weightloss goal, height and weight and it gives you an estimate of how many calories you should have and when that goal should be met. Estimate being the key word. I use it as a guideline, not the end all be all. Keeping track of everything I put in my mouth is a little time consuming but the accountability is need for me otherwise I'd be snacking all day. Its clear I need more structure in my life as far as food goes.

3. Work, Work, Work it out!
There's no doubt about it. Gotta hit the gym/go for runs/get bendy at yoga class. Right now my goal is to do some sort of physical activity three times a week and yoga at least once every other week. I would like to get more outdoor runs under my belt, but I live in Colorado and winter is right there waiting to hit. So as of now I'm planning more around going to the gym three days a week.
    • Day One: Backs and Biceps. Treadmill run of 45 mins with 10 min StairMaster and 10 min cool down power walk after lifting
    • Day Two: Chest and Triceps. Same cardio and B&B day
    • Day Three: Legs and Shoulders. Treadmill run of 35 mins with 15 min cool down power walk after lifting
        (I do a little bit of abs every time)

Doesn't really matter what order I do these days just as long as I do all three every week.

4. Drink All the Water
I used to drink over three liters a day or three giant Smartwaters a day. I can tell when I'm dehydrated, it messes with my whole day. I'm sluggish, get headaches, and just don't want to do anything but lay down in front of the TV. Easiest way to fix it is to drink my weight in H2O and get used to spending more time in the bathroom.



The biggest thing I need to remember and pay attention to is not getting so down on myself if something doesn't go exactly to plan. There will be days I don't sleep well and can barely stay awake to drive home much less go to the gym that evening. There will be times I'll be out of town or going out to eat with friends. Skipping a work out here and there is not the end up the world. Skipping a whole week? Not so good. I have a life, a job, and a million other responsibilities I need to take care of but I also need to take care of myself.

Also keeping my expectations in the world of reality are a must. I'm not going to just wake up over night and drop a bunch of weight. I need to be happy and content with a couple pounds here, or a couple of inches lost there. Besides muscles don't grow on trees, I gotta earn those Jillian Michaels biceps!!