So
how am I planning on getting back into the swing of things? 'Things'
being eating right and working out to a smaller me. As someone who
likes to plan and organize I'm just not jumping back into this willy
nilly. I got some plans, yo!
1.
Eat Cleaner Foods, Less Carbs.
I
love carbs and I love all the snacky junks foods that provided no
nutritional value. I have got to cut waaay back on all the crap and
make better choices. Whole grains instead of white, sweet potatoes
instead of white ones, all the fruits and veggies. Its as simple as
that. I will allow myself treats here and there, a cheat meal on
special occasions. My biggest problem is having one little treat and
than not going and eating all of the crappy but delicious things.
2.
Keeping Track of What I'm Eating.
Yay
for smartphones and their fun apps! I would totally give some of my
initial success to the app Lose It! I can scan the barcode of
anything I'm eating and even add recipes for when I cook up something
yummy at home. You can even plug in your workouts to get a general
idea of how many calories you've burned. There's even an option to
plug in your weightloss goal, height and weight and it gives you an
estimate of how many calories you should have and when that goal
should be met. Estimate being the key word. I use it as a guideline,
not the end all be all. Keeping track of everything I put in my mouth
is a little time consuming but the accountability is need for me
otherwise I'd be snacking all day. Its clear I need more structure in
my life as far as food goes.
3.
Work, Work, Work it out!
There's
no doubt about it. Gotta hit the gym/go for runs/get bendy at yoga
class. Right now my goal is to do some sort of physical activity
three times a week and yoga at least once every other week. I would
like to get more outdoor runs under my belt, but I live in Colorado
and winter is right there waiting to hit. So as of now I'm planning
more around going to the gym three days a week.
- Day One: Backs and Biceps. Treadmill run of 45 mins with 10 min StairMaster and 10 min cool down power walk after lifting
- Day Two: Chest and Triceps. Same cardio and B&B day
- Day Three: Legs and Shoulders. Treadmill run of 35 mins with 15 min cool down power walk after lifting
(I do a little bit of abs every time)
Doesn't
really matter what order I do these days just as long as I do all
three every week.
4.
Drink All the Water
I
used to drink over three liters a day or three giant Smartwaters a
day. I can tell when I'm dehydrated, it messes with my whole day. I'm
sluggish, get headaches, and just don't want to do anything but lay
down in front of the TV. Easiest way to fix it is to drink my weight
in H2O and get used to spending more time in the bathroom.
The
biggest thing I need to remember and pay attention to is not getting
so down on myself if something doesn't go exactly to plan. There will
be days I don't sleep well and can barely stay awake to drive home
much less go to the gym that evening. There will be times I'll be out
of town or going out to eat with friends. Skipping a work out here
and there is not the end up the world. Skipping a whole week? Not so
good. I have a life, a job, and a million other responsibilities I
need to take care of but I also need to take care of myself.
Also
keeping my expectations in the world of reality are a must. I'm not
going to just wake up over night and drop a bunch of weight. I need
to be happy and content with a couple pounds here, or a couple of
inches lost there. Besides muscles don't grow on trees, I gotta earn
those Jillian Michaels biceps!!